Atlanta Press Club inducts five journalists into Hall of Fame

The Atlanta Press Club recently inducted five new members into its Hall of Fame during its third annual induction ceremony. Photo: Courtesy Atlanta Press Club

ATLANTA, Oct. 24, 2013 — The Atlanta Press Club recently inducted five new members into its Hall of Fame during its third annual induction ceremony.

The most recent class, inducted during a Tuesday dinner ceremony, was comprised of five famous Atlanta journalists, including Margaret Mitchell, a Pulitzer Prize-winning author and reporter perhaps best known for writing Gone with the Wind.

“She was truly a part of the fabric of the city each and every one of us has grown to love,” Mary Rose Taylor, executive director emeritus of the Margaret Mitchell House, said. Mitchell, who died in 1949, worked as a reporter for The Atlanta Journal newspaper.

“She was known as the first journalist who got to work in the morning and the one who shut the lights out at night,” Taylor added. “She worked incessantly. She loved writing, and she loved reporting.”

Other inductees this year are: Ed Baker, the long-time publisher of Atlanta Business Chronicle; Monica Pearson, the first minority and first female to anchor an evening newscast in Atlanta; Dale Russell, the senior investigative reporter for WAGA-TV; and Bill Shipp, a long-time and well-respected political commentator.

“Bill Shipp is as Georgia as its red clay and sweet magnolias,” former Gov. Roy Barnes said in inducting Shipp. “He began his journalistic career … by standing up to the most powerful governor in modern times, Herman Talmage. And, what was it that he stood up for? The audacity to suggest that regardless of the complexion or color of an individual’s skin, they had the right to be educated at the University of Georgia.”

The Press Club recognizes journalists, either retired or active, for their lifetime achievements and whose careers are held up for their journalistic integrity.

Previous inductees include a slew of famous Atlanta journalists, including Xernona Clayton, the founder of the Trumpet Awards; Ralph McGill, the Pulitzer Prize-winning editor for the Atlanta Constitution who advocated racial tolerance in the South during the 1950s and 1960s; Ted Turner, the founder of CNN; and Henry Grady, the editor of The Atlanta Constitution in the 1880s and a legendary Southern journalist.

For more information, visit

This article is the copyrighted property of the writer and Communities @ Written permission must be obtained before reprint in online or print media. REPRINTING TWTC CONTENT WITHOUT PERMISSION AND/OR PAYMENT IS THEFT AND PUNISHABLE BY LAW.

More from Today's News
blog comments powered by Disqus
Todd DeFeo

Todd DeFeo jouned The Washington Times Communities in May 2012. He covers travel and Georgia. A marketing professional who never gave up his award-winning journalistic ways, DeFeo revels in the experience and the fact that every place has a story to tell. He also serves as editor of The Travel Trolley.


Contact Todd DeFeo


Please enable pop-ups to use this feature, don't worry you can always turn them off later.

Question of the Day
Photo Galleries
Popular Threads
Powered by Disqus