2013 Oscars schedule & coverage, Sunday, 8:30 p.m. ET

WASHINGTON, February 23, 2013 — Next to the Super Bowl, everybody’s favorite Sunday is Oscars Sunday. And Sunday, February 24, promises to deliver another red carpet evening for everyone, whether you are a movie fanatic or the average moviegoer.

Yes, it will once again be too long but prepare to settle in with a glass of pinot noir and some cheap caviar and feel like you are part of the action on your television.


SEE RELATED: Oscar Best Picture Predictions: Will Argo edge out Lincoln?


The TV schedule:

* Officially, the 85th Annual Academy Awards, aka The Oscars, airs live on ABC at 8:30 p.m. ET (5:30 p.m. PT), but long before the big moment, the action will be along the red carpet leading into Dolby Theater.

You can watch all the excitement here at Communities where we will be live streaming the AP Feed to our page.

* E! Entertainment will start broadcasting its own coverage “Countdown to the Red Carpet” at 1:30 p.m. ET (10:30 a.m. PT). Included in the show will be “The Hangover’s” monkey, Crystal, and a live tiger, in tribute to the monkey and tiger who starred in “Life of Pi” as well as Jennifer Lawrence’s personal archery trainer in “The Hunger Games” as well as interviews around Hollywood.


SEE RELATED: ‘Argo’ vs. ‘Zero Dark Thirty’: Oscar Night incoming


* E! Entertainment then continues at 5:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. PT) with Ryan Seacrest hosting “Live from the Red Carpet” and interviewing the stars as they wend their way from limo to their seats inside.

* Not to be outdone, MTV has red carpet coverage of its own with MTV News’ Josh Horowitz and VH1’s Janell Snowden at 5:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. PT) on MTV.com. They will also ask questions of the stars from fans who tweet them, using @MTVNews, @JoshuaHorowitz, and @JanellSnowden, hashtag #OscarNightLive.

* The TV Guide Network has Chris Harrison as anchor of its  coverage on “2013 Academy Awards Red Carpet” at 6 p.m. ET (3 p.m. PT).

* ABC will be hosting its own preview show “Oscar Red Carpet” at 7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. PT) with Lara Spencer, Jess Cagle, Kristin Chenoweth and Kelly Rowland meeting and greeting the arriving stars and nominees.


SEE RELATED: ‘Lincoln’ should sweep the Oscars with Steven Spielberg and Daniel Day-Lewis leading the way


* ABC online has added celebrity chats with Chris Connelly, an entertainment and sports reporter, who as the Academy’s official Red Carpet greeter will interview the Oscar nominees, presenters and performers, streaming it all live on Oscar.com and on the official Oscars App.

BREAKING ALERT:  Communities will be live streaming the pre-show festivities starting at 5:30 p.m. EST, Sunday, February 24, 2013.


Read more Oscars predictions in Looking West: From China to Hollywood, news and reviews



This article is the copyrighted property of the writer and Communities @ WashingtonTimes.com. Written permission must be obtained before reprint in online or print media. REPRINTING TWTC CONTENT WITHOUT PERMISSION AND/OR PAYMENT IS THEFT AND PUNISHABLE BY LAW.

More from Movies in Total
 
blog comments powered by Disqus
Catherine Poe

Catherine was named one of the top Progressives in Maryland along with Senator Barbara Mikulski and Congresswoman Donna Edwards. She has been a guest of President Obama in the Rose Garden.

As past president of Long Island NOW, she worked to reform women's prisons in New York, open the construction trades to women, change laws to safeguard battered women, and protect the rights of rape victims. 

Long active in Democratic politics, she served as the presidentof the Talbot Democrats in Maryland for six years and fought to getthe Health Care Reform bill passed.

Catherine has been published in a diverse range of newspapers and magazines, including Newsday, Star Democrat, Rocky Mountain News, Yellowstone News, and the Massachusetts Review.

If Catherine has learned anything over the years it is that progressive change does not come easily, but in baby steps. 

Contact Catherine Poe

Error

Please enable pop-ups to use this feature, don't worry you can always turn them off later.

Question of the Day
Featured
Photo Galleries
Popular Threads
Powered by Disqus