LIVE CHAT: Dancing With The Stars Season 17 premiere tonight, 8 p.m.

Who is a hit and who is a miss on the dance floor tonight? Join our live chat and let everyone know your scores. Photo: Who will win the Mirror Ball Trophy this season? / Photo ABC-DWTS Facebook

SAN DIEGO, September 16, 2013 –  All the questions and speculation about the competitors of Season 17 of “Dancing With The Stars” will be answered soon when the season premiere takes place at 8 p.m. ET/PT.

Viewers love to be surprised by the performers, both the hits and the misses. As much as we love the winners, the flops are equally memorable: Kate Gosselin, Master P, Kim Kardashian. The producers know the formula that makes “Dancing With The Stars” one of the the highest rated shows on TV.

SEE RELATED: Week 1 wows from Amber to Valerie on Dancing With The Stars (VIDEO)

Tonight, competitors will either dance a Cha Cha Cha, a Foxtrot, or a Contemporary dance routine of one minute and ten seconds. The Contemporary routines will be the most challenging because there are few specific rules and the couple must have chemistry to be successful which can take time.

Some couples have revealed via Twitter what order they will dance on the show. All of the dance assignments have been listed on the official ABC DWTS web page. All of the voting numbers are assigned and will stay the same throughout the season.

The list at the time of publication Monday at 1 p.m. ET:

Brant Daugherty and Peta Murgatroyd
Dancing 1st: Cha Cha Cha

Leah Remini and Tony Dovoloni
Dancing 2nd: Foxtrot

Jack Osbourne and Cheryl Burke
Dancing 4th: Foxtrot

Elizabeth Berkley and Val Chmerkovskiy
Dancing 5th: Contemporary

Corbin Bleu and Karina Smirnoff
Dancing 6th: Contemporary

Amber Riley and Derek Hough
Dancing 7th: Cha Cha Cha

Keyshawn Johnson and Sharna Burgess
Dancing 8th: Cha Cha Cha

Bill Engvall and Emma Slater
Dancing 9th: Foxtrot

Valerie Harper and Tristan McManus
Dancing 10th: Foxtrot

Snooki Polizzi and Sasha Farber
Dancing 12th: Cha Cha Cha

Christina Milian and Mark Ballas
Dancing NK: Contemporary

Bill Nye and Tyne Stecklein
Dancing NK: Cha Cha Cha

This year, fans can vote via phone for one hour only afer the end of the show in each time zone. Online voting at and on Facebook will be open for 24 hours beginning at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT and closing at the same time on Tuesday. There is no results show on Tuesday night. For the first week, the judges’ scores from week one and week two will be added to fan votes to determine who goes home first next Monday, September 23. A couple will go home at the end of each Monday show until the season finale on Monday, November 25, and the winner will be announced on

Communities hosts our first live chat of Season 17 tonight at 8 p.m. Join us and offer your commentary. We predict right now you’ll be amazed how Nicole “Snooki” Polizzi looks these days – and she’s dancing last.

“Dancing With the Stars” debuts tonight at 8 p.m. Eastern/Pacific Time on the ABC Television Network.

This article is the copyrighted property of the writer and Communities @ Written permission must be obtained before reprint in online or print media. REPRINTING TWTC CONTENT WITHOUT PERMISSION AND/OR PAYMENT IS THEFT AND PUNISHABLE BY LAW.

More from Media Migraine
blog comments powered by Disqus
Gayle Falkenthal

Gayle Lynn Falkenthal, MS, APR, is President of the Falcon Valley Group, a San Diego based communications consulting firm. Falkenthal is a veteran award winning broadcast and print journalist, editor, producer, talk host and commentator. She is an instructor at National University in San Diego, and previously taught in the School of Journalism & Media Studies at San Diego State University.


Contact Gayle Falkenthal


Please enable pop-ups to use this feature, don't worry you can always turn them off later.

Question of the Day
Photo Galleries
Popular Threads
Powered by Disqus