Oscars 2012: Schedule of Academy Awards TV, online coverage

It's Oscar Sunday with all-day coverage, reviews and analysis. Find your schedule options right here.

Join the Communities writers at 7:30 p.m. Eastern Time / 4:30 p.m. Pacific Time for a live chat about everything Oscar, from the red carpet fashions to the final Oscar for Best Picture.

SAN DIEGO – February 25, 2012 –  Will George Clooney finally add an Oscar next to his “World’s Sexiest Man” trophies? Will Meryl Streep bag her fourth Oscar to tie for the most individual acting awards in history? Will Billy Crystal finally seal the deal to become the permanent host of the Academy Awards so we can stop experimenting with the likes of Anne Hathaway or Eddie Murphy? And whose dress will do the Fashion Police perp walk on Monday?

All these questions get answered on Sunday, February 26 as the 84th annual Academy Awards takes place in Hollywood, California. The ceremony itself begins at 8:30 p.m. Eastern Time / 5:30 p.m. Pacific Time on the ABC Television Network

Billy Crystal hosts the Oscars for the ninth time on Sunday, February 26.

The Oscars have morphed into “Oscar Sunday” along the lines of “Super Bowl Sunday” with a day-long series of programs, followed by post-game analysis through Monday. Communities has your handy television and online schedule of event below to keep any Oscar fan busy. Get all your snacks and supplies ready, because you won’t get very far from the TV and you need to be wired all day, too.

ABC Network: ABC is THE network of the Oscars and the main programming includung the ceremony itself will be on your local ABC TV station. The website for all things Academy Awards is Oscar.go.com

ABC “GOOD MORNING AMERICA” 7 a.m. Eastern/Pacific Time

GMA kicks off Oscar Sunday starting at with live reports from the red carpet outside the Hollywood & Highland Center®.  

ABC ”OSCARS RED CARPET LIVE” 7 p.m Eastern Time/4 p.m. Pacific Time 

Hosts Robin Roberts, Tim Gunn, Louise Roe, Jess Cagle and Nina Garcia will cover the red carpet arrivals and provide backstage interviews, televised live by ABC.

ABC: “THE 84th ACADEMY AWARDS®” 8:30 p.m. Eastern Time / 5:30 p.m. Pacific Time

Billy Crystal is back as host for the ninth time. This broadcast will be carried in more than 225 countries worldwide – more than the number in the United Nations.

ABC: “JIMMY KIMMEL LIVE: AFTER THE ACADEMY AWARDS” For the seventh consecutive year, Kimmel will be televised live from the El Capitan Theatre in Hollywood on ABC immediately following the conclusion of the Oscars ceremony (and after late local news on the East Coast). Kimmel is known for sometimes wicked video parodies, and among the people rumored to be included are Meryl Streep, George Clooney, Martin Scorsese, Helen Mirren, Don Cheadle, Samuel L. Jackson, Cameron Diaz, Taylor Lautner, Gary Oldman, Antonio Banderas, Tyler Perry, John Goodman, Jeff Goldblum, Jessica Alba, Jessica Biel, Gabourey Sidibe, Josh Brolin, Kevin James, and Oprah Winfrey.

Oscar host Billy Crystal will join Kimmel to kick off his post-Oscar show, and the Grammy®-winning Coldplay will end the night with a Hollywood block party performance live on “JKL’s” outdoor stage.

Nine films have been nominated as this year’s Best Picture.

E! TV Coverage: E! has a full schedule of celebrity and fashion new coverage on Sunday.

E!: “Countdown to the Red Carpet: The 2012 Academy Awards” 1:30pm Easter Time/10:30 a.m. Pacific Time
Hosts Giuliana Rancic, Kelly Osbourne, George Kotsiopoulos, Ross Mathews and more broadcast live from the famed Roosevelt Hotel

E!: “Live From the Red Carpet: The 2012 Academy Awards” 5:30pm Eastern Time / 2:30 pm Pacific Time
For true fashionistas, THIS is the show to watch, hosted by Ryan Seacrest, Giuliana Rancic, Kelly Osbourne and Ross Matthews

“E! After Party: The 2012 Academy Awards” 11:30 p.m. Eastern Time / 8:30pm Pacific Time. Two hours of coverage and reflections on the Oscar winners, losers, fashions, and celebrity gossip.

Syndicated “ON THE RED CARPET AT THE OSCARS” - 4:30 p.m. Eastern Time/1:30 p.m. Pacific Time and 11:30 p.m. Eastern Time (check listings in other times zones)

This is a syndicated show carried on many ABC stations (check local listings), once again from the Hollywood & Highland Center®. Fashion experts critique the red carpet couture and follow early social media trends both before and after the awards show. The late program covers all the hot parties including the Governor’s Ball “Project Runway” all-star Mondo Guerra picks the biggest red carpet hits and misses.

Will anyone ever top the Bob Mackie gown worn by Cher as she won the 1988 Best Actress Oscar? It’s hard to imagine, but we would love to see someone try.

TV Guide Channel:

Starting Sunday at 4 p.m. Eastern Time / 1 p.m. Pacific Time, the TV Guide cable network will air a preview show, followed by a countdown show, and finally a red carpet interview show at 6 p.m. Eastern Time / 3 p.m. Pacific Time. A highlight is a live Fashion Cam covering the celebrities’ live arrival. During the Oscars telecast, TV Guide invites viewers to follow their live-tweet coverage on Twitter.

For Canadian viewers, CTV at the Oscars airs at 6 p.m. Eastern Time on the CTV main channel, with Ben Mulroney joined by Leah Miller.  At 7 p.m. Eastern Time, CTV Two carries ABC’s Oscars Red Carpet Live. The Oscar ceremony will be carried on the main CTV channel at 5:30 p.m. Eastern Time.

On Oscar Sunday, the “Oscar Digital Experience” kicks into full gear at Oscar.com, and on the Oscars App (available for iPad, iPod touch and iPhone). Twenty live cameras placed everywhere from the red carpet to backstage and to the Governors Ball provide access before, during and after the show.  

Associated Press and Livestream will offer online streaming coverage with no interruption or commentary at 2 p.m. Eastern Time / 11 a.m. Pacific Time. It’s an exceptional way to watch a pure feed of all the activity.

The entertainment news website OnTheRedCarpet.com promises a full interactive experience with live chats and other features. Other great online coverage bets include Entertainment Weekly at www.ew.com 

No doubt all your Facebook and Twitter friends will be chattering away. Keep an eye on the obvious hashtags and you can join the virtual party with millions of viewers around the world sharing thoughts on the winners and losers, celebrities and fashions.

Gayle Lynn Falkenthal, APR, is President/Owner of the Falcon Valley Group in San Diego, California. Read more Media Migraine in the Communities at The Washington Times. Follow Gayle on Facebook and on Twitter @PRProSanDiego.

Please credit “Gayle Falkenthal for Communities at WashingtonTimes.com” when quoting from or linking to this story.   

 

Copyright © 2012 by Falcon Valley Group

 


This article is the copyrighted property of the writer and Communities @ WashingtonTimes.com. Written permission must be obtained before reprint in online or print media. REPRINTING TWTC CONTENT WITHOUT PERMISSION AND/OR PAYMENT IS THEFT AND PUNISHABLE BY LAW.

More from Media Migraine
 
blog comments powered by Disqus
Gayle Falkenthal

Gayle Lynn Falkenthal, MS, APR, is President of the Falcon Valley Group, a San Diego based communications consulting firm. Falkenthal is a veteran award winning broadcast and print journalist, editor, producer, talk host and commentator. She is an instructor at National University in San Diego, and previously taught in the School of Journalism & Media Studies at San Diego State University.

 

Contact Gayle Falkenthal

Error

Please enable pop-ups to use this feature, don't worry you can always turn them off later.

Question of the Day
Featured
Photo Galleries
Popular Threads
Powered by Disqus